SGI Logo

OVER 50 INTERNET LEADERS EMBRACE 'MOVING WORLDS' AS NEXT-GENERATION OPEN INTERNET STANDARD FOR 3D ON THE WEB

Silicon Graphics and Netscape Galvanize Support From VRML, Multimedia, Entertainment, and Software Companies

MOUNTAIN VIEW, Calif. (Feb. 12, 1996) - In a move that promises to introduce powerful and practical 3D applications to the Internet, Silicon Graphics, Inc. and Netscape Communications Corporation today announced that 56 Internet leaders have agreed to support "Moving Worlds" as the next-generation implementation of virtual reality markup language, known as VRML 2.0.

Moving Worlds is an open, platform-independent specification for dynamic 3D environments on the Internet. Silicon Graphics led the development of Moving Worlds in cooperation with Sony, WorldMaker and other members of the VRML community. Moving Worlds maintains VRML's conformance to open standards and leverages JavaTM and JavaScriptTM to create behaviors, motion, and interactions. It also enables third-party Plug-Ins to be used unmodified, adding useful 3D capabilities to Web-based database, design and other real-world applications.

The companies announcing support for Moving Worlds are:

"The Moving Worlds proposal is - without any doubt - the leading candidate to become VRML 2.0," said Mark Pesce, one of the original pioneers of VRML. "Silicon Graphics, Netscape and their many partners are to be congratulated on developing a community-driven consensus process, which led to the current proposal. It is an endorsement of the open exchange of ideas which is the core tenet of the VRML community. Moving Worlds accurately reflects the needs of the VRML community, both as a content delivery vehicle and as a new platform for development."

"Silicon Graphics has taken VRML to the next step with Moving Worlds," said Tony Parisi, co-author of the VRML 1.0 specification and chief technology officer at Intervista Software. "We are pleased with Silicon Graphics' efforts to promote open standards for tomorrow's 3D Internet."

Recently submitted to the VRML Architecture Group for review, the Moving Worlds specification represents a major step forward in the evolution of the 3D open standard for the Internet. Support for the proposal came from all over the Internet through such techniques as web-based polling booths and mailing lists. To encourage further application development based on the proposed standard, Silicon Graphics will make source code broadly available throughout the industry.

To make the benefits of 3D technology available to all Internet users, Moving Worlds emphasizes practical applicability and relies on standard desktop computing power. Its sophisticated software architecture allows 3D data sets to be scaleable for viewing on a variety of computer systems ranging from low-cost Internet PCs to powerful 3D graphics workstations.

"In leading the development of Moving Worlds, Silicon Graphics faced a tough design problem: How to make high-performance three-dimensional graphics work over the narrow bandwidths of the Internet on a wide variety of computers," said Tom Jermoluk, president and chief operating officer of Silicon Graphics. "Moving Worlds brings the power of visualization to a much broader class of applications and a vastly larger user base."

The newly proposed standard is also marked by its extensibility and provides many features that enable developers to create 3D software applications and content for the Internet. Fully-integrated Java applets can be used to create motion and enable interactivity and JavaScript allows scripted communication between different objects both inside and outside the 3D environment. Additionally, Plug-Ins can be placed inside of 3D worlds to provide services ranging from streaming video to slide presentation.

Together these capabilities create a platform for the development of full motion, live content and animation; lifelike physical behaviors and reactions within a 3D environment; multi-user capabilities; and scalability ranging from importing 3D objects into HTML to navigating through virtual worlds. It is application-ready, and includes connectivity to databases.

"Moving Worlds is extremely exciting because it extends Netscape Navigator into a whole new dimension," said Marc Andreessen, vice president of technology and co-founder of Netscape. "Moving Worlds enables developers to build 3D applications and content that leverage all the technologies supported by the Netscape software platform: Java, JavaScript, advanced HTML, frames, and Plug-Ins. Netscape is committed to integrating 3D technology into the Netscape software platform and to providing a seamless blend of 2D and 3D elements to bring rich, lifelike activity to the Internet."

The Moving Worlds version of VRML enables Web-based applications to include:

Similar to HTML, the core Internet text standard, VRML encodes computer-generated graphics into a compact file format for transportation over networks. Because VRML is scaleable, it enables users to view the content of these 3D graphics files, browse HTML pages, or navigate virtual worlds.

For developers who want to learn more about Moving Worlds, Silicon Graphics will conduct training sessions at the Netscape Internet Developer Conference March 5-7 in San Francisco (call 1-800-225-4698 or visit the Web at http://www.netscape.com to register), and at the Silicon Graphics Developer and Cosmo(TM) Forum May 21-23 in San Jose, Calif. (call 1-800-770-3033 or visit the Web at http://www.sgi.com/Support/DevProg to register).

Netscape Communications Corporation is a premier provider of open software for linking people and information over enterprise networks and the Internet. The company offers a full line of Netscape servers, development tools and Netscape Internet Applications(TM) to create a complete platform for next-generation, live online applications. Traded on NASDAQ under the symbol "NSCP," Netscape Communications Corporation is based in Mountain View, CA.

Silicon Graphics, Inc. is the leading manufacturer of high-performance visual and enterprise computing systems. The company delivers interactive three-dimensional graphics, digital media and symmetric multiprocessing supercomputing technologies to technical, commercial, scientific and creative professionals through direct and indirect sales channels. Its subsidiary, MIPS Technologies, Inc., designs and licenses the industry's leading RISC processor technology for the computer systems, interactive consumer and embedded control markets. Silicon Graphics has offices worldwide and headquarters in Mountain View, California.


Silicon Graphics and the Silicon Graphics logo are registered trademarks, and Cosmo is a trademark, of Silicon Graphics, Inc. Netscape, Netscape Communications, Netscape Navigator and Netscape Internet Applications are trademarks of Netscape Communications Corporation. Java and JavaScript are trademarks of Sun Microsystems, Inc.

MEDIA CONTACTS AT COMPANIES SUPPORTING MOVING WORLDS

Company Contact Phone email
Adobe Systems Inc. Rick Brown (415) 962-6060 ribrown@adobe.com
Aereal Inc. Adrian Scott (415) 243-8922 adrian@aereal.com
Alias|Wavefront Franca Miraglia (416) 362-9181 fmiraglia@aw.sgi.com
Asymetrix Ann Bagley (206) 637-5859 annb@asymetrix.com
Aurum Software Chuck Donchess (408) 654-3425
Autodesk Multimedia Pete Samson (415) 507-5764 prs@autodesk.com
Andersen Consulting Guan Kai Yeo (415) 843-2132 davecon@cst.andersen.com
Borland Knox Richardson (408) 431-1201 krichardson@borland.com
Black Sun Interactive Inc. Dia Cheney (415) 263-6836 dia@blacksun.com
Bluestone Mel Baiada (609) 727-2600 x104 mel@bluestone.com
Bryce-Meta Tools Holly Fisher (805) 566-6200 hfisher@metatools.com
Caligari Corp Jill Ryan (415-513-8800) Jill_Ryan@mcleanpr.com
Chaco Communications, Inc. Dr. Dan Greening (408) 996-1115 greening@chaco.com
Chyron Ken Shaw (408) 988-2167
Cognicon, Inc. Grant J. Munsey (408) 252-1135 grant@cognicon.com
Computer Associates Bob Gordon (516) 342-2391 73232.1005@compuserve.com
Construct Internet Design Co. James Waldrop (415) 357-0100 x103 sulam@constructnet.net
Coryphaeus Software Inc. Bruce Sinclair (408) 395 4537 x279 bruce@coryphaeus.com
Criterion Mike King
mking@criterion.canon.co.uk
Creative Labs Russ Lujan (408) 428-2321
Digital Dialect Michael Case (818) 905-5410 mcase@digitald.com
Dimension X Lexi Sonnenberg (415) 296-0100 lexi@dimensionx.com
EDS Maxine Levy (214) 605-6206
Electronic Arts Pat Becker (415) 513-7523 pbecker@ea.com
First Virtual Holdings, Inc. Beverly Parenti (619) 793-2700 beverly@fv.com
Headspace Mary Coller (213) 876 4857 dotcalm@sirius.com
Hot Wired Andrew Anker (415) 222-6200 aa@hotwired.com
IBM Susan Scott-Ker (914) 766-1463 susansk@vnet.ibm.com
Informix, Inc. Cecilia Denny (415) 926-6420 cdenny@informix.com
Integrated Data Systems, Inc. Michael Hilgenberg (912) 236-4374 mikeh@ids-net.com
Intervista Software Inc. Tony Parisi (415) 434-8765 tparisi@intervista.com
Macromedia Miles Walsh (415) 252-2106 Miles_Walsh@macromedia.com
mFactory Hamish Forsythe (415) 548-0600 hamish@mfactory.com
NetDream, Inc. John Marshall (310) 820-8783 johnm@netdream3d.com
Netscape Andrea Cook (415) 528-6711 andreac@netscape.com
OnLive! Technologies Trudy Nicolay (408) 777-2173 trudy@onlive.com
Organic Online Jonathan Nelson (415) 284-6888
Paper Software, Inc. Mike McCue (914) 697-2440 mmccue@ix.netcom.com
ParaGraph International Leonid Kitainik (408) 364-7726 kitainik@paragraph.com
Polhemus Ed Costello (802) 655-3159 x238 e_costello@polhemus.com
Planet 9 David Colleen (415) 247-7997 colleen@hyperion.com
Ray Dream, Inc. Teri Campbell (415) 960-0768 x121 teri@raydream.com
SEGA of America Dan Stevens (415) 802-3996 dan.stevens@segaoa.com
Silicon Graphics Inc. Carl Furry (415) 933-3365 furry@corp.sgi.com
7th Level Mary Crisp (214) 498-8184 MaryC@7thlevel.com
Smart Valley, Inc. Kathie Blankenship (408) 562-7795 KathieB@svi.org
Sony Corporation Rodger Lea 011-81-3-5448 -5437 rodger@csl.sony.co.jp
Starfish Software, Inc. Te Smith (408) 461-5899 tesmith899@aol.com
Superscape, Inc. Andrew deVries (415) 772-8431 andrew_devries@p2pr.com
3D WEB Mike Conduris (415) 956-0222 mike@3dweb.com
3D Labs Neil Trevett (408) 436-3456 neil.trevett@3Dlabs.com
Visual Software, Inc. Katie Cotton (818) 509-3700 kcotton@ata.com
VIVID Studios Anita Corona (415) 512-7200 anita@vivid.com
VREAM, Inc. Ken Gaebler (312) 477-0425 info@vream.com
WorldMaker, Inc. Duncan Fraser (415) 824-6452 duncan@worldmaker.com
Worlds Inc. Rob Schmults (415) 281-1300 robs@worlds.net



We welcome feedback and comments at webmaster@www.sgi.com.

Copyright 1996 Silicon Graphics, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Trademark Information